Cross-Eyed Cat…

My office lies in a warehouse in an industrial area,where the very essence of survival for any stray animal is nonexistent.

A week ago i started hearing this meowing which was clear it belonged to a small kitten. Two days of investigating and there it was a small skinny kitten in the worst condition ever, hiding underneath these big pallets in our warehouse. Involving a couple of workers and myself included there was no way for us to get it out, so we reverted to the old trick in the book, just put some milk in a pot and wait for it to come out.

The meowing became more intense, and as we were waiting for it to emerge from its hidding place, there comes in this skinny bigger cat and from the way it was looking around it must have been its mother. Being older thus more daring this creature had no problem in approaching us, and to my utter surprise it was cross-eyed. It looked funny and cute although it’s bones were almost visible due to her lack of flesh.

The mother approached the little kitten hiding place and slowly the kitten emerged it self , but the moment it saw me standing close it vanished again, the mother being hungry and thirsty, just invited itself to the milk pot. So we left them to their own devises and cleared the area making it safer to the frightened little creature to get out.

The second morning upon my arrival our young watchman comes to me in excitement and asked me to follow him, and there to my surprise our famous cross-eyed cat and her kitten are lying there with a pot of milk next to them. The weather nowadays is extremely hot and given that our offices lie in a warehouse makes it more tolerable for these poor creatures.

It’s been a week by now and the mother and it’s kitten have been hanging around in our premises, they would go up to the office floor and lie next to the doors, where they could benefit from the cool breaze coming from our air-conditioned offices. The mother cat with her crossed eyes is starting to look healthier and the little kitten is less panicked by these huge creatures going around.

In the end life can be cruel and harsh, you might be frightened and terrified, you could lose a loved one, or don’t know where you are at times. Yet out of despair there will always shine a ray of light to guide you, someone might offer you a helping hand and gives you shelter from the harsh world outside. I know this for sure now; just looking out from my office door, to our Cross-Eyed Cat…

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Introspection, Life, Personal Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

