Life is a Song…

From the early days of developing awareness to life around me I had a major fascination with music. I can still remember the first music tape I had, I was around 7 or 8 and my elder cousin who was a teenager at the time, used to play this tape with all these disco tunes ( Disco was still in at that time). I loved it, I could sit there in her room and start moving to the beat, seeing how excited i was she gave me her tape; and oh my Lord what a state of joy I was in. I played the tape on and on and on, danced to Boney M and Bee Gee’s and to the sound of mom telling me to lower the volume.

As I moved towards my Teenage years music was a major part of my life, I would have the radio playing all the time and whenever a good song came on I would record it on a tape, and my tapes collection just grew bigger by the days. It was the eighties, the good music  years, various types dance, rock, ballads, love, electric and wake me up before you Go Go. Everything related to my life had a song, every situation I was in had a song playing in my head, my life had a non stop soundtrack.

My involvement with music grew stronger as I went into university, I was too lazy to learn to play any instrument, but I loved singing and fortunately I had a good voice. The stage was a pleasant place to be on, I enjoyed the concerts, the feeling I had when singing with the band was like no other, pure ecstasy.

I left university and went into the real world of having a job and becoming a responsable man, but i had to keep that music flame alive. With a mere coincidence, I became a part-time DJ at a friend’s pub, I had the chance to play my own favourite music and guess what?..Eighties. I played once a week and during that eve i would let out all the stress and anxiety I had during the rest 6 days. The songs I would mix would be telling how I am feeling, they were happy at times, sad at others and even high at certain given circumstance.

I don’t do that any more , but the music and the songs are still there, a never-ending soundtrack playing throughout the hours of the day, of everything I do in my life.

I will be introducing you to my world of music and songs, the lyrics that move me, the beat that thrills me and keeps me sane at times of extreme discomfort. To me life is a song, whatever it could be, it never seems to stop amazing and fascinating me. Its my own little world where every thing has a tune playing into and a lyric to  express how I am feeling.

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Life, Personal Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

