A Lazy Afternoon…

I am sitting in my office smoking a cigar, having a nice coffee and listening to “Buena Vista Social Club”, Cuban music at its best.

The way humans are leading their lives nowadays is tiring, the concept of chasing time and trying to beat it up has taken its toll on their minds and souls. You see, I do believe in total commitment to one’s own job and career ; the competitive attitude one should always have in pursuing his professional future, but what about one’s own mental and emotional health?

Most people we meet nowadays are stressed, anxious ,edgy in their moods and at certain  point some are about to have a nervous break down.  They start their day and end it a on constant high; lunch is in haste, if they have time to eat, a never-ending series of phone conversations, and their eyes glued to their computers and phone devises.

Today I went for a long lunch with a friend whom I haven’t seen for 18 years, we simply enjoyed a pleasant meal talking about the old days, the whereabouts of our common friends, made some jokes on some ( Harmless gossip) and totally avoided talking about work. Meeting someone you knew after so many years is always exciting and the feeling of familiarity that comes with it is what really gives you joy. Those days at university where one’s life is at ease, life worries as we now it now has no presence whatsoever.

I came back to my office, relaxed, with a laid back, stress free attitude. As I sat on my desk, I just didn’t feel an urge to work, I felt a nice tingling feeling of laziness creeping in. I remembered i had a cigar laying somewhere in one of the drawers. looked around and there it  was. A nice cup of coffee felt inviting, so our good man Omair go it with a smile that was more enhanced with  seeing how chilled out I was. Music would sound good, and fortunately enough the computers have other use than to send e-mails and prepare reports. 

So here I am having a very lazy afternoon…it feels good, it doesn’t feel guilty, a nice warm feeling that we all should have once in a while to remind us that we can stop for a breath, stop for a nice lunch with a friend, and stop for a nice one on one time with our own self.

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Introspection, Life, Personal Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

