Being You…

We always hear this phrase “Be yourself”…Yet when someone tells us that do they really mean it. Being yourself is one of the hardest tasks a person can endure, the process one has to go through to be himself is long journey of experimenting and self acceptance.

From the early stages of our awareness to the world around us we are handed the “Guidelines” book of life: The Do’s and Dont’s, The good and the bad, the right and the wrong, the appropriate and non appropriate, and this goes on and on. We start growing up and our attitude to life is governed by the guidelines and our mind in the process of evolving starts to question and doubt, eventually, it finds itself in confrontation with them; Is it right for me to think this way, is it right for me to doubt this belief, and can I do it the way I want to not the way it should be.

Being yourself in many occasions means that you have to go beyond the Guidelines, beyond the norm and a lot of times against the current, that is the social current. It is the toughest of struggles, going along is easy acceptance is guaranteed and cheered for by the society, but dare you venture outside and you will be labeled you will be a rebel, a person with no aim , a lost cause.

It sounds very general and yes I intend it to be this way. Each single being has his own battle with his own “Guidelines”, and his acceptance or rejection is solely determined by his own will. I believe each one of us has his own divine right to be Himself and along this long and agonising, yet worthy, process of learning and seeking of self-knowledge and self-acceptance, You are to reach the ultimate of self-realization and self-existence..that is Being You.

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Introspection, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

