Life And The Airport Terminal…

I am at the arrivals hall in the airport terminal waiting for my mom to come out. It’s the festive holidays and since I can’t travel due to work commitments my mom decided to come and spend it with me. The plane was a bit delayed and from what I am seeing the airport seems a bit busy, so I guess I am going to wait a bit.

Sitting at the arrivals hall has always had quite an effect on me. Just watching people  waiting for their loved ones or even their acquaintances is an amazing moment. Here you see people of all ages, nationalities, genders and different walks of life, this old man is sitting there with some flowers in his hands, that young wife busy keeping her little baby calm, a young man having a coffee, all just waiting for someone to come out.Then it is the meeting, the hugs either warm or cold, the kisses whether for a family member or a lover, the smiles on the faces, the excitement of seeing someone after a while whether being short or long. It is amazing the feeling I get just watching all this, me being part of this ancient human practice…The Waiting.

We go through our life as if we are waiting at an arrival hall, just waiting for someone or something, just anticipating that moment when we are going to meet the love of our life, the goals we dream of, the achievements we always hope for and always with anxiety. How will it feel, will we love it, will it makes us happy, will we be excited with it or will we just feel the same or feel nothing or even feel disappointed.

This is the mystery of our life and this is where we will always be stuck. Simply waiting for that someone or something and hoping at the end of  it that the waiting has been worth it.

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Introspection, Life, Personal Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life And The Airport Terminal…

  1. I love airports, airplanes, flying, changing countries … all of it, but there is nothing else like sitting in an arriving or departing hall, I always go early to the airport when I need to, so I can spend time doing all the things you have described here …I even have a favorite spot on Athens airport near the departure hall where I have my coffee before the flight … The most interesting departure hall I’ve been to- Heathrow … huge space filled with people walking here and there, shops and tc screens … big time fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

