Who Isn’t A Clown…

A red nose

A makeup smile

A funny hat

And coloured attire

Beneath it all

One truth prevails

When the curtains fall

And the laughter fades

When the show is over

We’re all alone

In this circus of life

Who isn’t a Clown

About Sam

Cerca Trova is the Latin for ” Seek and you Shall Find “…. I’ve been in constant search for meaningful answers to many issues in my life..i have found some and many are still missing… I found answers in music, in poetry,in other’s words,and my personal experience… Yet I’m still seeking answers for so much more… I would love to share with you what I’ve found so far,and take you along on my journey in seeking the rest…
This entry was posted in Introspection, Life, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Who Isn’t A Clown…

  1. Jingle says:

    true,
    agree.

    everyone has two faces, it is benign most of the time, just as the circus clown, he dessed up to entertain, life needs it, agree?

    beautiful piece, thanks for sharing!

  2. seabell says:

    I love clowns and poems with questions… Like it, for sure!

  3. wolfsrosebud says:

    Very thoughtful. I loved the end…

  4. birchtreepastor says:

    Simple and true. Thank you for sharing!

  5. swanrose says:

    agreed. Nicely done

  6. Alive aLwaYs says:

    Masks huh? Who isn’t wearing them!

  7. Pat Cegan says:

    Wonderful, Samer, simply terrific. I have missed your posts and visits. Are you working too hard? Hope to see more of your work. They always delight me! hugs, pat

  8. True we all have different personalities. Mine is split as work, family, friends. I’m 3 different people! A brilliant poem that ignites the mind.

  9. genebrother says:

    The tools of a clown, and make up for sure, when gone…
    loneliness is all that is left.

    Well written Sam

    Genebrother

  10. Chimnese says:

    yip..u dont kno wwho too trust cos everyone wheres a mask….

  11. bendedspoon says:

    Perfect painting of you! Just clowning 🙂
    Great write of great truth. Love it 🙂

  12. Leo says:

    To make others smile, and cry inside.. Yes, I agree.. Its all of us.. Life’s just that. Well said.

    My Post Is Here

  13. Becca Givens says:

    Truth for many — laughing on the outside and crying on the inside!! Question – what do we think about ourselves in the night – and we are alone with ourselves!!??

    Well done ~~

    • Sam says:

      Thank you Becca, as for your question, being alone with ourselves contemplating is not loneliness, it is self awareness…

      • Bhaga says:

        I am glad you are saying that, Sam, in your reply, but are you not saying precisely the contrary in your poem?! I thought it was even the whole point of it?!
        From an artistic point of view, that poem is beautiful and so well-written; but I cannot agree with the message you give through it… which I am surprised to see that you somehow change here in your answer. Sorry to put these questions to you, it’s my first time visiting your blog and reading your great poems…

  14. a.m. trumble says:

    I like this a lot.

  15. Lovely and the truth ofcourse–we all clown around and try to get a few laughs and when the mask drops ,we are plain lonely! Happy summer Sam!

  16. magher1 says:

    Deep and thought-provoking… Nice!

  17. Andy says:

    There is much truth in your words. Only we know what’s under the facade.
    A very thought-provoking piece.

    Congrats on the award!

    Thanks also for commenting at my blog.

  18. A very thought provoking poem, so true and so sad. I truly enjoyed it.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  19. Who isn’t indeed! I use to do face paintings at fete’s and open days and was amazed by the amount of clown requests I got. Each one was different, too!

  20. Olivia says:

    Who isn’t a Clown.. tell me..!!
    I love your deep imageries that you often paint!

    Love n hugs xox

  21. ouch! most wear masks indeed. Nicely expressed! Enjoy the rally!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/rest/

  22. danroberson says:

    To laugh or to cry,
    to show or to hide,
    keep all the emotions,
    that we fear inside,
    It’s more than a face,
    or thoughts we try to erase,
    So whether we laugh or frown,
    Each of us is a clown.

    Very insightful and well written.

  23. Liz says:

    Lovely poem … written I suspect is search of some of those answers to life’s questions. And it is indeed filled with answers.

  24. chongshalom says:

    As we all go through the day’s work
    We wear a mask on to avoid looking like a dork
    Then I chanced upon this poem and gave me a clue
    About what people are really, and it’s true.

    (: Good job.

    – RPIMotion Author

  25. woih says:

    whoa, cutting deep there. Love the unveiling..it’s a bit sad sometimes but love where it leads. Great write

  26. Bhaga says:

    ‘Who isn’t a clown?’, you ask in the end of this beautifully written poem.
    Sorry to have to disagree, but I don’t think I am a clown in the way you describe, and I don’t think you or anyone else is truly and only that fun-masked loneliness either. Superficially, most of us may feel that this loneliness is our true face, but only because they haven’t dived yet into the real depths of their being, their deep center, where there is a continuously flowing well of Love, and no loneliness any more… and then the fun on the face of the clown becomes true and happy fun, not a mask hiding the sadness…
    What we really are is spiritual beings having a human experience, so let’s not get too much caught in the apparent sadness of our lives, they have a purpose and achieve something, even when we don’t see it with our ‘just human’ eyes. Let’s not be ‘reductionists’ with ourselves!…
    I hope this comment of mine may be helpful, and not felt offensive by anyone…

    • Sam says:

      Bhaga,
      Thank you for visiting my blog, and I do appreciate all your comments. It is always interesting, to read various comments as well as different point of views to my poems, it is part of the beauty of writing to be honest.
      As a reply to some of your questions, I can simply say that poetry in general is a state of mind and feelings at a given point in time. the same goes for our thoughts of certain issues or situations. The reflections we put in words can sometimes vary but what is most important is to acknowledge this fact and by the same time accept other’s own point of view.
      Thank you again and hope to keep reading your comments in the future…:-)

      • Bhaga says:

        Please forgive me, Sam, for my answering so late your kind comment above and your invitation to again write comments on your blog: I had a lot to write for my own blog too in the meantime, plus various other ’emergencies’ in my other work as well, sorry for that.

        I am glad that my replies to some of your recent poems I stumbled upon at first, were accepted among all the others. You say you do appreciate them, so I feel welcome enough, me and my strongly spiritual possible contributions, to join those many other persons who already since long know and visit your blog regularly. I too will definitely enjoy the beauty of your poems, I would say you are truly talented!… As long as the contents also are uplifting rather than somber, which seems to be generally the case, reading your poems will have a positive effect on me too, and that’s what I am primarily looking for in someone else’s blog, along with the beauty of poetic expression I myself don’t really have… Thank you then for inviting me in, I’ll gladly come back!

Leave a Reply

